Farewell 2013

What happened? I blinked and it is already the last day of 2013! Before making new plans and new resolution, perhaps I should take a moment and think of what the year 2013 really means to me.

20130224-marathonThe biggest accomplishment was finishing a full marathon back in Feb. Which was followed closely by a week of bucket-list worthy trekking tour in Nepal. And to my absolute amazement, I have drawn from both experiences and am now avidly training for my next goal, a 50km race! Am I addicted to the pain and frustration of everlasting training? Absolutely not! But the hard-earned sense of accomplishment is really rewarding when I finished a course (that is until next round of training resumes!)

The biggest surprise was when my best friend decided to relocate her family half way across the globe. And she did, in record-breaking time! The fastest relocation I have ever witnessed. Given today’s technology, whatsapp, internet, social network etc… we don’t feel the kind of loss or separation as we did couple decades ago. But the physical distance is not to be ignored. The spur of the moment breakfast rendezvous is not possible and the chance run-in on the street is not happening anymore. We will have to make an effort to meet again and maybe, perhaps then we will treasure our gathering even more.

ImageThe best holiday was a luxurious diving trip to Sipadan, Malaysia. Sipadan and the neighbouring islands offer a diverse marine life and landscape. Whether revisiting dives sites or exploring new territories, I was not to be disappointed. My diving buddy told me he has been going back year after year for 20 years. Now that’s a tradition that I am very tempted to follow.

What changed in 2013? I can perhaps run a few km more than before, and I have learnt to cook a few dishes, I have made some new friends and I have missed a few.

Have I any regret? Hmmm… The biggest regret was perhaps throwing out my red hot valentino killer heels, thinking that I would go green, wear sneakers and flats, commute by public transport.  Some are not meant to be.

As Scarlett Butler so eloquently said, “Tomorrow is another day” It’s time to put all the things behind and start another day, another year!

Wish you a fab year ahead. I know I am going to have one! ^^

Leave a Reply

